Comparison
Agent readiness tools compared: tragent vs the alternatives
Shopify Commerce Readiness, Lighthouse, Sichta, AgentReady, ucptools.dev, Profound and tragent compared: what each checks, costs, and when to use it.
The tragent teamPublished 11 min read
When a merchant starts taking AI shopping agents seriously, the first question is usually "is there a tool that tells me if my store is ready?" In 2026 there are many, and they are not interchangeable. Some score a page in thirty seconds; some live in your Shopify admin; some track whether ChatGPT mentions your brand; a few drive an agent through your checkout.
This post compares the main options: what each one checks, what it costs, and when it is the right choice. We build tragent, which is one of them. We have tried to describe the others as their makers do, and to be plain about where tragent is not the best fit.
How did we compare the tools?#
From each tool's own public pages and cited press coverage, as of October 19, 2026. We did not use paid tiers we have not bought or features behind a sales call. Where a page does not mention a capability, we mark it not stated rather than no: absence from a marketing page is not proof a feature is missing.
The capabilities we compared follow the stages an agent purchase goes through:
- Static checks: robots rules, structured data, feeds, llms.txt, policies.
- Bot management: whether the tool tests how your firewall treats agents, signed and unsigned.
- Agent journeys: whether it drives an agent through to checkout.
- Protocols: whether it validates UCP, ACP and related standards.
- CI: whether it can fail a build before a regression ships.
- Monitoring: whether it watches production or real agent traffic.
- Fixes: whether it helps apply the fix, not just report the problem.
If you represent one of these products and something here is wrong or out of date, write to us at the address in our editorial policy and we will correct it.
What kinds of agent readiness tools are there?#
Five kinds, from a free one-off scan to continuous testing. Knowing which kind you need narrows the field quickly.
- Free readiness scanners score a public URL against a list of static checks. Fast, free, good for a baseline.
- Store-admin apps run inside a commerce platform, mostly Shopify, check your catalogue and policies, and sometimes apply fixes.
- Protocol validators check that a UCP or ACP integration is published correctly and conforms to the spec.
- AI visibility platforms track how answer engines mention, cite and recommend your brand and products.
- Agent testing platforms request your purchase path as agents, run agent journeys, gate deploys and monitor production.
| Tool | Free to start | Any platform | Static checks | Bot manager test | Agent journeys | Protocols | CI gate | Monitoring | Fixes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| tragentAgent testing platform | |||||||||
| Shopify Commerce ReadinessFree readiness scanner | |||||||||
| Chrome Lighthouse (Agentic Browsing)Free browser audit | |||||||||
| SichtaShopify app | |||||||||
| AgentReady (Fast Commerce)Shopify app | |||||||||
| ucptools.devProtocol validator | |||||||||
| ProfoundAI visibility platform |
Select any cell to see where the answer comes from. ✓ yes · ◐ partly · – no · ? not stated on public pages
Shopify Commerce Readiness: the best free baseline#
A free, no-login scanner that scores a store against 31 checks. Shopify launched it in April 2026 at commerce-readiness.shopify.io. According to coverage of the launch, it groups its checks into AI discoverability, product schema, transaction readiness, trust signals and operational maturity, flags issues such as missing review markup or shipping policies not exposed in structured data, and ranks fixes with an impact–effort matrix.
Choose it when you want a quick, credible baseline, especially on Shopify. Its findings carry the weight of the platform that co-developed UCP.
Its limits are those of any static scan: it reads what your storefront publishes. Coverage does not describe testing how a bot manager treats agents or attempting a purchase, and it is a web tool, not something that runs in your deploy pipeline.
Chrome Lighthouse: an agentic audit developers already run#
Lighthouse added an experimental Agentic Browsing category in version 13.3 in May 2026. It checks the accessibility tree agents rely on to find controls, layout stability, llms.txt, and WebMCP integration, and reports a pass ratio rather than a score.
Choose it when your team already runs Lighthouse, locally or in Lighthouse CI. The accessibility-tree checks are genuinely useful: an agent clicking "add to basket" needs that button to have a name.
Its limits: it runs in your browser, so it sees your site as you do, not as a bot manager presents it to an agent arriving from a data centre. And Google itself treats parts of it as speculative; its 2026 Search guidance tells site owners llms.txt is not needed, while the audit checks for it.
Shopify app scanners: Sichta and AgentReady#
Apps that check your catalogue from inside the Shopify admin, and help fix what they find. Two examples:
- Sichta, launched in July 2026, runs 26 deterministic checks across robots and AI crawler access, structured data, catalogue completeness and buyer policies, and scores how many buyer questions your products can answer. It generates llms.txt and agents.md free; paid plans ($19 to $149 a month) add one-click, reversible fixes, daily re-scans and alerts.
- AgentReady by Fast Commerce runs 17 checks on prices, inventory, descriptions, images and policies, scores the store 0–100, links each issue to the admin, and includes ACP and UCP readiness checklists. Plans are $19.99 and $29.99 a month.
Choose one when the person fixing things is a merchant working in the Shopify admin, and the gaps are mostly in product data and policies. Being inside the admin is a real advantage for that job. Both were new in 2026 and had no public reviews when we checked.
Their limits: both are Shopify-only, and their listings do not describe testing bot management, attempting a purchase, or running in CI.
ucptools.dev: a capable protocol validator#
An independent tool focused on UCP and ACP: profile validation, a protocol simulator, and CI. It runs a four-level check of your /.well-known/ucp profile, from structure to testing with the official SDK, plus an ACP readiness checker, a feed analyzer and a security scan. It can simulate the discovery-to-checkout flow at the protocol level, and offers a GitHub Action and CLI that fail a build when readiness drops. Validation is free; monitoring starts at $9 a month.
Choose it when you are implementing UCP or ACP and want fast, cheap validation that the profile is right, including in CI. For that specific job it is good value.
Its limits: its scope is the protocols. Its pages do not describe testing how your bot manager treats agents or driving a browser agent through your own checkout, which is where agents arriving from ChatGPT and browser assistants still buy today.
Profound: visibility in AI answers, not store readiness#
The best-funded company in the space, focused on how answer engines see your brand. Profound raised a $180 million Series D at a $1.8 billion valuation in September 2026 and says it serves more than 1,000 enterprise brands. It tracks brand mentions, citations and sentiment across answer engines, product visibility in ChatGPT Shopping, prompt volumes, and AI crawler activity and traffic through Agent Analytics.
Choose it when your question is "does AI recommend us, and how often?" That is a marketing question, and Profound is built for marketing teams.
Its limits for this job: it measures visibility, not whether a purchase works. Its pages do not describe testing your store's checkout with agents or gating deploys. Many larger merchants will reasonably use a visibility platform and a testing tool side by side.
Where does tragent fit, and where doesn't it?#
tragent is for teams who need to know an agent can complete a purchase, on every deploy and in production. It requests each stage of the purchase as a signed and an unsigned agent, runs agent journeys through to a sandboxed payment, checks protocol conformance, gates CI on regressions, and monitors live agent traffic, with revenue at risk attached to each failure.
To be fair to the alternatives, tragent is not the right choice for everyone:
- It meters agent journeys beyond the free plan: paid plans start at $49 a month, in the range of the validators and apps above ($9 to $149), but each plan has a monthly allowance of journeys because every journey runs a model and a browser.
- Agent journeys need setup. They run only against domains you have verified, and journeys that pay need a sandbox. A free scanner is faster to try.
- It is not a visibility tracker. If the question is whether ChatGPT recommends your brand, use a visibility platform.
- It does not edit your store. It generates fixes and can open pull requests; it does not change your catalogue for you the way an admin app can.
Which tool should you choose?#
Start with a free scan, then pick by the question you need answered.
| If you need to know… | Start with |
|---|---|
| Whether the basics are in place | Shopify Commerce Readiness, Lighthouse, or tragent's free scan |
| What to fix in your Shopify catalogue, from the admin | Sichta or AgentReady |
| Whether your UCP or ACP integration is valid | ucptools.dev |
| Whether AI assistants recommend your brand | Profound or another visibility platform |
| Whether an agent can actually buy, before and after every deploy | tragent |
Our buyer's guide to agent readiness tools goes through the questions to ask any vendor, including us.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the best free AI agent readiness checker?
- For a quick baseline, Shopify's Commerce Readiness tool, Chrome Lighthouse's agentic browsing audit and tragent's free scan all cost nothing. They differ in what they check; running two gives a fuller picture.
- Do readiness scanners test whether an AI agent can actually buy?
- Most do not. They read the pages your store publishes. Testing a purchase means requesting the basket and checkout as an agent, and ideally running an agent through them, which only a few tools do.
- Is Profound a competitor to agent testing tools?
- Partly. Profound measures how AI answer engines mention and cite your brand and tracks AI crawler traffic. It does not describe testing purchases, so many teams would use it alongside a testing tool.
- Which tool works for non-Shopify stores?
- Shopify's free scanner accepts any store URL, and Lighthouse, ucptools.dev, Profound and tragent work on any platform. Sichta and AgentReady are Shopify apps.
- Can these tools run in CI?
- Lighthouse can through Lighthouse CI, ucptools.dev offers a GitHub Action and CLI, and tragent offers a CLI on npm, a GitHub Action and a GitLab template with a regression gate.
Sources
- Shopify launches AI agent readiness tool that scores any store URL — Shopifreaks. April 28, 2026
- Lighthouse agentic browsing — DebugBear. Secondary explainer of Lighthouse 13.3
- Sichta – AI Agent Readiness — Shopify App Store
- Agent Ready – Product Data Fix — Shopify App Store
- UCP.tools — ucptools.dev
- Profound features — Profound
- Profound nabs $180M to scale AI marketing platform — CMSWire. September 2026
Written by the tragent team and checked against the sources listed above on October 19, 2026. See how we write and correct posts in our editorial policy.